Living with an AH boyfriend.

Old 04-14-2006, 05:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Living with an AH boyfriend.

This is my first time posting here but I need some help.

I am 24 and have a 3 year old daughter. I have been living with my AH boyfriend for 2 years. It has now gotten to the point where we sleep with seperate blankets and have no kissing, touching, nothing.

Is this normal for an AH? He is only 28 so what do I have to look for in the next years?
Old 04-14-2006, 05:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
One brief hour...

Is this normal for an AH? He is only 28 so what do I have to look for in the next years?
Welcome to SR. You have further progression of alcoholism to look forward to if he does not seek recovery all himself. You have losing battles ahead of you if you focus only on him and his drinking rather than yourself.
Old 04-14-2006, 08:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR......
Glad you have found us....
So what do you have to look forward to in the next years you ask?
Absolutely nothing if you live with an active alcoholic......
Old 04-14-2006, 09:34 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome... I'm a newbee too and feels good to vent. Even if here are no replys. It feels good to get it out. Replys on this forum are a bonus and you will get them. Wierd how you can love and are for people you dont know
Stay tuned!
Old 04-14-2006, 09:45 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Acting not reacting

Its been my experience that the age of the alcoholic does not have as much to do with it as the progression of the disease.

Does it bother you that he drinks or is it his lack of intimacy that is troubling you most?
Old 04-14-2006, 09:53 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

mystar, Welcome to SR, this is the greatest site ever.
Read everything you can on here.

I am not to say this ,but as long as it is not his child and you are not legally tied, and you are young yet, I would suggest just getting out.
Always difficult to leave, but would in my opinion be best for you and your child.