Notices

Help with 1st AA meeting

Old 03-26-2006, 10:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help with 1st AA meeting

I'm needing to go to my 1st AA meeting. I went to one last week, and there were about 50 people there and while the person was reading the creed or motto or whatever is it, I got really nervous and walked out. I'm not sure what to expect, even though I know they are all there for the same reason for me. I'm not good at speaking in front of people. Will I have to spill my whole life in front of everybody? Any info would be great. Thanks.
Old 03-26-2006, 10:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Living and Loving.

You don't have to do anything you don't want to do in an AA meeting.

They might ask if you want to introduce yourself. Go ahead if you feel like it. If not, just say "Hi, I'm here just to listen for today, thank you."

Welcome to SR btw!

My first meeting I was fearful too. I didn't want to be the center of attention and I just knew I had a "Newbie" sign on my forehead. It was such a great experience though and I will never regret going. I have met a bunch of really good people who I can relate to and talk to about my alcoholism and they totally "get" me. They know what I have gone through. Such a relief.

Hang in there you can do it.

Suga
Old 03-26-2006, 11:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Here is what to expect....

http://www.bma-wellness.com/papers/...AA_Meeting.html

I also left my 1xt meeting... just go again.

Welcome to SR!

Blrssings.....
Old 03-26-2006, 04:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Smile