Notices

My life, as told by me...

Old 12-29-2005, 07:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My life, as told by me...

My name is Clif and I am an alcoholic-addict. I'm new to the SR world and I guess I’ll start with a little about me. I grew up in a small town in Kentucky, as an only child, in a domestically violent home, with an alcoholic Father and an emotionally unavailable Mother. During my late teen years my Father stopped drinking, joined a church and has been sober since, nearly 20 years. However, by that time in my life the damage was done, he had been nothing more to me than the man who slapped my Mother around on occasion, screamed and yelled at me, fought with me and paid the house payment! My Mother was so damaged emotionally by the lifestyle she had chosen to live that she was never able to open up to my Father again, thus, their marriage ended when I was 18 and they have both since moved on with new spouses and new lives. My relationship remains strong with my Mother but continues to be strained with my Father. I sometimes feel like I really still don’t know him, having left home at 18 I have had little time to rebuild any type of relationship with him, we do talk but remain distant.