Newbie here....

Old 11-28-2005, 04:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here....

I hope I am posting this in the right spot. I am a crazy cat lady who spends a lot of time on a Cat forum and they have a spot to introduce yourself...didn't see one here.

Anyways,

I am 26 and from Burlington, VT. My parents are both alcoholics. While they both drink, my mother worries me the most. The time I went home to visit prior to Thanksgiving I asked her how her cutting back on drinking was going and she said it could be better. I voiced my concern and she went on her rant of how she had such a horrible life and her mother drank etc etc. I told her I was worried for her health and she said it didn't matter because she can't bear to live without my father so she needs to make sure she dies before him. so she is trying to drink herself to death. about a year ago she was inaccurately diagnosed with this fatal disease. She confessed to me, while telling me all of this other stuff, that when the doctor told her she was terminaly ill she felt relief. She said she doesn't have anything else to live for. she knows my sister and I will be fine.

Other than working, sleeping, eating, drinking, smoking, and watching TV she has no life. My dad bought her this huge 5,000 dollar flat screen tv for her birthday which is great because now all she is does is sit in front of it and chain smoke and drink. She has no energy to do anything. I think grocery shopping once a week is the most exercise she gets and when she is done with that her legs and back hurt. Her belly is all swollen like she is 9 months pregnant. She is on a medication that requires her to get her liver tested every so often and she keeps saying that her liver function is perfectly fine. She told me that once she gets told that something is off that she will quit drinking then.