Notices

please help me

Old 11-24-2005, 12:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

please help me

I am extremely depressed. I want to go back to meetings but I am angry at the structure of AA. All I want in life is to be able to be confident, assertive, and self expressive without being told there is something wrong with me. When I was in AA a few years ago, I had about a year and a half sober before I relapsed. And the whole time in those meetings, I felt so out of place. I felt spiritual and happy to myself - but I felt I couldn't share it with anyone because nobody understood that I am different - even among people who are supposed to be different. People all around me are phonies - and I can't take it anymore. See, I am an artist, I am highly progressive socially and politically, and I abhor anything mainstream such as our current media system. I HATE the patriarchy of this world. I am a feminist. I do not fit in ANYWHERE. And right now, more than anything I need someone to talk to. I have been crying all night, I am so depressed. I don't believe in chemicals (aka medication for depression), and I don't even smoke cigarettes. I am trying to find a good therapist in my area - but I recently moved here and I'm not having any luck finding a good therapist. I believe in wholistic wellness - that is, everything natural. But good luck trying to tell me that there are others like me in AA. From my experience AA has been full of a bunch of low lives that threaten to kick my ass (serioulsy, a girl last week threatened to beat me up for no reason) To me, thats low life behavior. I didn't get sober to have to deal with low lives. I was raised with way more class and manners than that. I wasn't raised on the street. In the city I live in now, the meetings are full of people who were raised on the street. I can't take it anymore -I feel as if there is no place for me and it is really hurting inside. please help.
Old 11-24-2005, 12:16 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Om, Aum, Ohm...