Changing drinking hours in the UK (England).

Old 11-23-2005, 02:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Changing drinking hours in the UK (England).

It's open all hours now - or at least potentially. Our drinking laws are too complex to explain in full and have plenty of quirks but until now shops selling booze had to stop selling at 11pm and most 'local' pubs stopped serving then too.

I worked as a waitress, in town, I went to uni, my husband wound up addicted to alcohol. 11pm has meant stop so many times - I've seen so many kids have to stop then, people in town kicked out at 11 and too drunk to get into a club - but trying and I don't doubt would have got another drink at the pub they were at.

Trying to quit some harder nights have led to a sigh of relief at 11pm - battle won. D used to leave opening the first one until 11pm, then changing his mind and drinking more would be impossible.

At uni kids get so drunk out their heads, not knowing their limits, cheered on by the culture and the bars there open till 2am - did that later opening help? HELL NO!!

They say it will mean less people on the streets at chucking out time - but where will they be? Not drinking more by any chance? And the times to get INTO the clubs is unlikely to change so there'll still be a whole crowd on the move between 10.30 and 11pm.

Of course they expect arrests to go up - (only because of a drive against drunken, disorderly behaviour - policed by who I don't know as it seems to me the police can't manage what they do now!). I should think they expect alcohol tax revenue to go up too.

But hey I suppose the whole point is to not restrict 'innocent' people in their freedom to drink to midnight and beyond, in pubs or buy more booze at gone 12!!