Notices

A Newbie's Pros and Cons

Old 11-22-2005, 09:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A Newbie's Pros and Cons

I know I'm pretty new to recovery myself, but if it's okay with you guys, I'd like to reach out to some other newbies here--maybe someone just deciding whether or not to quit. I'm NOT by any means giving advice, as I'm still learning, too....just sharing what has been an absolutely amazing turn of events in a very short time in my life. One that I never, ever would have believed possible.

Tomorrow will be three weeks since I found this site, and since I truly decided to stop drinking. The two coincided exactly--I was very lucky. I'd been drinking heavily for two or three years, and was up to a fifth of bourbon EVERY day. Anyway, I was scared as hell, as indicated by my fabulously original and brilliant introductory thread title, "I'm Scared"....lol.

I was terrified of everything--the withdrawal, facing the reasons I needed to drink, coping without 'help', loneliness, anxiety, boredom, the physical side effects, missing my old life, missing my drinking buddies, missing my old pal Jim Beam, etc...

As it turns out, these are the terrible, awful things that have happened to me since November 2nd:

-I look better (no more red eyes, dull skin, bloated face).
-I feel better.
-I don't reek of booze.
-My headaches are practically gone.
-My blood pressure has gone down.
-I've lost weight (six pounds in three weeks).
-My workout is ten times easier, more productive and more enjoyable.
-I pray more genuinely, and not just mostly for myself all the time.
-I'm drawing and painting again--before I was either too drunk or my hands shook too much.
-I'm not tired during the day (okay, I'm not tired at night either...lol...I'll get to that).
-I don't say or do nearly as many stupid things.
-I remember where I put my keys--and pretty much everything else.