Obsession....

Old 10-13-2005, 03:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Obsession....

I was thinking about obsession - casting back through my life, wondering if I've always had a tendency to be obsessed.

As a child I wanted to ride and finding means to learn took most of my efforts and thought for around 6 years. As a young adult I became a groom - then I started to really learn to ride. Again it absorbed most of my waking time. At uni years later I'd get caught in an idea and took pleasure in all the periodicals I could raid to quench my curiosity - I didn't care much if I missed lectures as long as I could chase what I'd started to 'get'. After uni I worked in applied behavioural analysis with autistic children, I worked as a team leader under a consultant, often divising programmes and working on teaching styles. The fascination of deconstructing intelligence and understanding into bite sized chunks to teach absorbed most of my waking moments. And so it goes on, ideas, new things nearly all have a single center - to learn harder, quench curiosity, chase understanding, catch a snowflake of inter-connections and feel it.

Uhmmmmmm.......

When I'm told what a word means I go and look - I just do, it often surprises me the words I use without knowing what they mean, or thinking I do when I don't.

ob·ses·sion ( P ) Pronunciation Key (b-sshn, b-)
n.

1. Compulsive preoccupation with a fixed idea or an unwanted feeling or emotion, often accompanied by symptoms of anxiety.

2. A compulsive, often unreasonable idea or emotion. (dictionary.com)
So chasing, catching, feeling, being absorbed isn't obsession UNLESS the idea is fixed, or feeling unwanted, UNLESS it is unreasonable, UNLESS it is compulsive.

That's a different measure, there's freedom to feel and think, to worry (although mostly I'd agree that's unwise), to even allow ourselves to be absorbed in our own learning - whatever learning we choose (lord knows I go where something seems useful or catches my eye!).