Can't let go something will happen to her.

Old 09-11-2005, 04:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry Can't let go something will happen to her.

Hi i'm new to this. I have a friend i've known for ten years she has a drinking problem. Ive tried to get her to stop but i have had know success. I tried just ignoring it to see if that would help me deal with it. She drinks and drives. Hides alcohol all over the place. It's so sad. I want to help her but nothing works. Last night we went to the county fair and i drove home with her. I was driving she was intoxicated. We were talking on the way home and she kept getting more and more beligerant. I tried not to get upset but she wouldn't stop. Finally we arrived home and by that time we were really starting to get into to it. I walked into the house she came up behind me mouthing off and i turned around and shoved her and down she went on the front lawn. I didn't want to do it. It just happened. After that it escalated and she wanted to get in her car and leave. I attempted to stop her and she swung and nailed me on the sided of the head. It caught me off guard. I didn't swing back i just told her i was going have her thrown jail. She got in the car a left. I don't know what to do. I know i should leave but i am so worried she will hurt herself or someone else.

Signed unable to detach.
Old 09-11-2005, 05:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey Karen...

I'm sorry that you can't help your friend...
It's her choice all the way how she behaves.... and until she decides to start looking at her doings in life... then it's probably only going to get worse because alcoholism is generally progressive if not intervened and the person will not get help....

there are support groups out there... and there is much support in Sober Recovery and information on how to cope and where to go from here...