Notices

First Post

Old 09-05-2005, 12:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Winginit

First Post

Hello all,
I'm new to this site. First one I wanted to join. I've been through the usual story: progressive dysfunction, unmanageability, loss of relationships, jobs, trouble with the law, until it couldn't get any worse and there was no way out, nowhere else to run. 5 months of rehabs and relapses until I finally got it.
Coming up on a year now! I see that 24% relapse after 1 year. I hope that doesn't happen to me. How could it? Did someone hold that 24% down and force them to drink alcohol?
AA's been really good, but never landed a sponsor. I'm not good at returning calls from my family, never mind a stranger. I don't like meetings where you get picked and forced up to the podium. I do believe in a Higher Power. After my experience, that part is a no-brainer. Grateful for that beyond words.
Sober life is happy & peaceful. It's amazing that the things we thought were hopeless or ruined, aren't!
Some troubles during my first year: weight gain!, started smoking in rehab, procrastination, need to start going to meetings again, worry about damage to my body from alcohol, although I feel fine. My sig other (who is sober naturally) says I'm still not back to normal, referring to how I was before my alcohol dependency when I was drinking occasionally-frequently, mostly social.
All in all, very grateful!
Old 09-05-2005, 12:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome to SR!

So glad you joined us.

If you truly want to work for sobriety...the success ratwe is 100%
I see AA recovery miracles daily!

Blessings...
Old 09-05-2005, 12:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Paused

Welcome. I'm glad you decided to join us. This is a great place with terrific people.
Old 09-05-2005, 12:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
JUST DO IT!!