new to recovery

Old 08-28-2005, 04:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to recovery

hi im not really sure where to start but i am new to the whole process of recovery. my husband has stopped drinking and is attending aa and has a sponser and everything is going really good so far so why am i not happy ? i should be but im not. i have always been with someone with an addiction problem and im not sure i know how not to be in a dysfuctional relationship
that sounds so screwed up but i wonder what is wrong with me why do i feel like i have to always be saving someone elses life.i try so hard to make everyone around me happy and its still never enough .i dont get it . my first marriage was to an abusive alcoholic my second marraige to a drug addict and now to an alcoholic.at least now hes getting help but a part of me feels very left out
if anyone out there knows what im dealing with please send me a message
thanks anaka
Old 08-28-2005, 04:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hey anaka

first off, it sounds like even though you are unhappy, you have done a good job of identifying the problem and are ready to face what's going on. good for you!

have you read "codependent no more" by melody beattie? if not, go right out and get it. if you've already read it, read it again! it's an amazing book. what you're going through is quite common and there are steps you can take to change things.

also, are you in any sort of counseling to deal with your own issues? this might be a good idea. that way you can separate your own problems from your husband's.
Old 08-28-2005, 04:19 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

We were addicted to the drama and the chaos. Counseling would be very good.
Old 08-28-2005, 07:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

thank you so much for your reply and i will read the book ill let you know
Old 08-28-2005, 09:34 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Cruelty-Free

Welcome to SR, anaka...

Originally Posted by anaka