Notices

How do I stop my husband from drinking and cheating?

Old 07-23-2005, 11:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello Everyone! I've never done this before. I'm not sure how to do this computer communication. Forgive me if I'm not doing this correctly! Well, I'm hoping that you might be able to help me. I've gone to Alanon for 18 months and my husband attends AA meetings and has gone to rehab as well. We have been married for 20 years and he has been with at least 6 woman in the past 7 years. He continues to drink, has lost so many jobs, including his license to practice medicine, our daughters have lost all respect for him as well. He now lives with his mother and I just don't know if I should end this marriage. He tells me he loves me, but seems to find other woman more attractive. He says that's all part of the disease of alcoholism. Is this true? Does alcoholism drive people to commit adultry? Any ideas or thoughts for me? Thanks so much for your time. SuzieA
Old 07-23-2005, 12:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi there Suzie, and welcome to SR.

As you will have learnt in Al-anon, you can't control your hubby's behaviour, whether it is drinking or cheating.

All part of alcoholism? Cop-out, imo. An alcoholic is an alcoholic, a cheater is a cheater. Some alcoholics may be cheaters, but it is a separate thing.

Do you have a sponsor in Al-anon? I hope so, because a good one will help you unravel your thoughts on this. It really comes down to whether cheating is a deal-breaker for you.

Come down and join us on the Friends and Family of Alcoholics board. That's where those of us affected by another person's drinking hang out.

Love

Minnie
xxx
Old 07-23-2005, 12:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello Dear Susie,