Needing Advice

Old 11-04-2002, 06:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Southern through and through

Needing Advice

I need some help/advice please. As I stated in earlier posts, I'm new to this Al Anon thing and dealing with the A in my life. I'm trying to find an Al Anon group, but until then I'm coming here to read and try to learn.

My A is my daughter. First let me say she is in outpatient treatment and being very open to wanting help. For that I am thankful. But as we all know, that doesn't make her well.

She is 20, but probably about 15 emotionally. Her doctor & counselor tell me that A's stop developing emotionally at the age they started drinking. I have no idea when she started drinking (she doesn't care to share with me all the details and, to be honest, I don't think I care to know them.) Anyway, she is involved with a 25 year old man, but he acts more like a boy. He is a non drinker, in fact, he is a youth minister. So for that I am thankful too for he isn't a bad influence on her in the drinking department.

But this boy is awfully immature, has terrible insecurities himself and doesn't understand what my daugther is going through. At first he said, "You don't need help. You don't drink everyday." Man, this boy needs educating, but I can't make him get the education he needs.

I know he claims to 'love' my daughter but I know he is no more capable of knowing what true love is than my daugther. I might add he is from a broken home, his mother being married 3 times but her last marriage stuck, ten years now.