Notices

How can I help my partner not to relapse?

Old 06-13-2005, 03:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How can I help my partner not to relapse?

Hello everyone

I'm new to soberrecovery and new to the whole thing all together! I have never used drugs or been with people addicted to drugs. Last year I met my partner and soon found out she was using cocaine. It was the usual: I'm having a bit of fun, it's a laugh, I only do it with my friends. You are judgemental, boring and want to cotrol me. This is what she used to say to me.

Soon we started to face the usual problems that coke brings: mood swings, irritability, paranoia and depression. I realised my partner (I'm a girl as well!!!) was doing it regularly and every excuse was a reason to do it: friends' houses, pubs, our own home. She started to lie to me saying she wasn't doing it when it was obvious she was. She has been doing it for 10 years!

After various weekends of hell, of arguments, of lies, of emotional abuse for me, I finally decided that maybe it was time for me to go. I didn't want to give her an ultimatum, they never work, but I had to tell her that if she had no intention to stop, I would have had to go as it was destroying me and our relationship, our love. She said she wanted to stop and be with me. She admitted of being addicted and her friends, who I consider drug buddies rather than real friends, not helping her at all. Since she told them she's not doing anymore, she has received all sorts of stupid comments, like: oh god, where's the fun now? don't you get bored? Your girlfriend is making all the choices for you, blah blah blah... As well as telling her of parties where the coke will be widely available and offering it to her!