Maybe a dumb question....but what is the "13th STEP??"

Old 05-31-2005, 08:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Maybe a dumb question....but what is the "13th STEP??"

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but what exactly is the 13th step???
I keep hearing about it in other posts that refer to affairs and stuff. Is there something that I don't know here?? I am still a newbie.

Thanks
Old 05-31-2005, 08:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Morning Glory

Here is an article I found.

THE ORIGIN OF THE 13th STEP
Yes, doing someone else’s inventory is permitted, but it is also generally frowned upon.
Why? Well, it is understood among longer-lived members of this fellowship that true personal recovery does not come from doing another’s inventory, but from sticking to one’s own. Another thing that’s permitted but generally frowned upon is “Thirteenth Stepping”.

Just as AA is not a lending bank, an employment center, or a social club, AA is also not a dating service.

How did today’s concept of “Thirteenth Stepping” arise? Originally, Old-timers recognized that our 12 Step program was indeed a ‘one day at a time’ lifelong effort.

The original usage of “Thirteenth Step” was as a euphemism used by the first AA’s to signify one’s final step into the casket. After practicing the 12 Steps throughout a lifetime, it was said the deceased AA had made the “13th Step’ into the grave.”

Later, as the fellowship's experience grew, the term “13th Step” took on its contemporary usage.
The “Thirteenth Step” is commonly defined as the practice of dating a newcomer, or another AA member, with less than solid sobriety.

It is widely accepted that romantic relationships are never easy, even for non- alcoholics. Bearing in mind that alcohol and addiction is a very real potential death sentence for an alcoholic, if we choose to risk the very personal emotional trauma which may arise from an unsuccessful union, we then also risk the life of another out of our own self-will.