Notices

Employment in Recovery

Old 05-28-2005, 10:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry Employment in Recovery

I will be "celebrating" my first year shortly, but hardly feel like celebrating. With three DWIs, one a felony, and an aggrataved harrassment charge on my record, I cannot find ONE decent job. I have no problem securing interviews, and often am asked to return, however, after the usual background check, most interviewers will not even take my follow-up calls.

I have a degree in chemistry and economics, and do have excellent, albeit dated, references. I have tried the honesty approach as per my sponsor's suggestion, which only gets me a pat on the head, and a quick end to the interview.

I have been reading on the Net about changing one's identity. I was wondering if anyone else has been forced into this step? I understand this certainly not in the category of rigorous honesty, but what other choices are there? Am I doomed to a life flipping hamburgers? Any success stories or solid info on ID change ( I am NOT talking about identity theft) would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Jeff
Old 05-28-2005, 10:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I know it may seem frustrating but I would keep trying before I would go as far as changing your identity. I'm sure you'll come across someone you recognizes how educated you are and the potential you have to offer their company. Your only human and everyone makes mistakes and there are a lot of people out there that believe in second chances. Keep trying!
Old 05-28-2005, 10:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome and Hello!

Way to go on your sober time!

Never heard of changing your idenity. How would you deal with your Social Security account? And the IRS? Any your banking and utilities companies? And your fimger prints?

If changing your idenity site wants money...Hmm???

How about the alcoholism/addiction industry?