Help for My Marriage

Old 04-21-2005, 01:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help for My Marriage

The discussions here have been so comforting and helpful to me. This is my first time writing because I really need your help. My husband of 3 years is a substance abuser. He went through an inpatient detox program before we met and continued to go to AA meetings for another few months and then said they weren't for him. Everything was wonderful between us and he was everything I wanted so we married a year later. After a few months, I saw a pattern develop where he would drink or drug in excess and I mean anything he can get from alcohol, pot, prescription pain killers, sedatives, and sleeping pills, to OTC medicines, like allergy pills, and once, even the dog's medicine! I hung onto him because he was genuinely remorseful every time (except the last one) and promised things would change. And I love and care for him more than anything. When he's sober he is so sweet, caring, and giving and we get along like soul mates and are very happy together. But every few weeks or so there is a new "event". He has the potential to be dangerous-he once fired his gun in the house a couple times, putting holes through the walls and then destroying our cell phones and financial records in a mad rage following a sedative visit to the dentist, a prescription for pain, and a case of beer. Sometimes he gets angry and sometimes berates me. Even worse is when he OD's on pills and hallucinates, telling me someone is after him or seeing or hearing things that aren't there, and basically talking nonsense. He is totally insane and seeing him act and look like that is so disturbing to me. This happens out of the blue-he'll be fine one minute and without warning (I don't see him taking anything), he's out of his mind. He's going to counseling to help resolve some childhood or other issues but doesn't want to go to NA or AA. He's not sorry for the last episode. He was always so remorseful before but now s