Why do I do this to myself?

Old 04-12-2005, 01:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
too much on my plate!!

Why do I do this to myself?

Hi again! I'm so thankful for this board and all of you

I'm very new to Al-Anon; the town that I live in is quit small compared to where I had orginally lived. I'm lucky if I can find one meeting a day.

Ok here is my question; I find myself back sliding and becoming more forgiving, in this case I had had enough, and kicked out my Abf about a week and a half ago. Although its been about a week since we last talked, I find myself feeling sorry for him and his disease. I feel as though I'm not giving enough to myself as far as my feelings are concerned. I know this must be part of being Co-Dependent, and also just being a human being; but this is usually the point where I totally forgive him and allow him back into my life, only to have the cycle start again.

I miss him, but at the same time I'm so very angry with him. There is something different about him leaving, and thats that he moved back in with his Mom, doesn't even have a house key to get back in here, and he hasn't begged or pleaded with me in allowing him to come back. I now feel as though I've done something wrong; I feel almost guilty for kicking him out....
Old 04-12-2005, 01:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Searching and tripping

I miss him, but at the same time I'm so very angry with him. There is something different about him leaving, and thats that he moved back in with his Mom, doesn't even have a house key to get back in here, and he hasn't begged or pleaded with me in allowing him to come back. I now feel as though I've done something wrong; I feel almost guilty for kicking him out....

I really do recommend that you find alanon meetings and the literature they hand out. It wouldn't hurt for you to get hold of a copy of the AA Big Book. There are so many personalities to the alcoholic and it's impossible to analyze why they do or don't do this or that.