Stay or go?

Old 02-14-2005, 11:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Stay or go?

Hello,
This is my first time here, and I have been reading many of your posts, and it has been nice to see others feeling how I feel. I have only recently begun to believe that my husband is possibly an alcoholic. I am not sure where habit ends and addiction begins. I know he is capable of stopping (he stopped for 3 or 4 months after receiving his 2nd DWI -- $$$), but he's also said that a beer drinker is just who he is and its what he likes to do. This past week has been particularly bad. He's passed out and urinated on the couch about 3 times. I have been contemplating ending our marriage. Fortunately, we are still young and do not have any children. After reading some posts about how an alcoholic husband affects the lives of kids, I am terrified to bring children into this marriage. However, I do love this man. I don't want to leave him. But I have to be concerned for the lives of our future kids, right? I believe that when you marry someone, you marry them for everything they are. He was a drinker before, but I honestly thought we were just being college kids. Hey, I went out and partied with him all the time then! We had a blast! But that was 3+ years ago. I've grown out of it, and I just don't see the end in sight for him. Again, I love him so much. He is so fun to be around...in fact everyone loves him. He's just a likeable guy! He is responsible, makes a nice living, and thinks the world of me. Today I told him that I was worried about him, and he said he was ready to quit again. If he follows through, great. But then again, if not...
Any thoughts?
Old 02-14-2005, 12:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Texas Girl,
Welcome!!!