Life or Death Situation For My Dad, HELP

Old 01-07-2005, 06:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Life or Death Situation For My Dad, HELP

Hello all, I apologize in advance, but this may end up a bit lengthy.

I am very new to the fact that I am a ACoA, and in desperate need of advice. Until recently, I did not realize that my 54 year old father was an alcoholic. He was not a "closet drinker" - as long as I can remember my dad always had a beer in hand, but never appeared drunk, was not abusive, did not go out to bars, and we grew up with a very happy and loving family environment. It never seemed to be a problem - until it affected his health.

Dad walked around for quite some time with complaints of back pain & constipation. We finally talked him into admitting himself to the hospital, rather than a series of outpatient tests back in August. To try and vaguely sum this up, by the time he was released in October he had 3 procedures/surgeries, and just a few of the diagnosis' were: Cirhosis, Chronic Pancreatitis, Perforated (dead) Bowel, Peritonitis, Severe Malnutrition, Internal Gangrene (from the bowel), and was Septic. He was only given a 30% chance of recovery. By some miracle of God, he was eventually sent home and was slowly recovering, although mentally, I don't think he'll ever be the same.

Now for the problem. Five days before Christmas, I caught him drinking. EVERY doctor in that hospital told him that one drop of alcohol would be enough to kill him. At this point, I am resigned to believe that this disease can not be controlled by him, and that I should just be grateful for each day I have with him. My husband feels otherwise. He thinks that we have not done enough to help him, and there has to be something left we can do.