Notices

Insanity...

Old 01-06-2005, 02:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Giving up control

Insanity...

I am new to this web-site, although not new to the program. I was first introduced to AA October of 2003. I haven't managed to stay sober but months at a time, then relapse. I have been buried in the program at times; had a sponser, worked steps, read the Big Book, prayed, meditated, daily readings, went to meetings, even chaired for a while, etc.... Then that dreadful day comes that I drink again. Total, complete insanity!!!!!! It brings me to my knees every time. This has been the longest I have been out since first coming around. I am in really bad shape, two days sober today. My heart has been pounding out of my chest, I am shaky inside and out, my head aches, and I want to drink so freak'in bad I can hardley stand it. I have dug myself into a deep hole again and for those of you reading this that have a few 24hrs. I tell ya it DOESN"T get better! I have that stupid obsession that one day I will be able to control my drinking, yet prove myself wrong time and time again. I know the program works and I can't go on drinking. I dropped to my knees and begged for God to help me- surrendering once again. I called my old friends in the program and will be at a meeting tonight. I am scared and just try to keep in mind, only today I have to get through. The first month has always been the hardest on me, but trying to stay drunk is almost harder. I have messed up everything, it's just not worth it. I remember the serenity and peace I had before and I want it back more than anything in the world. I want God in my life and friends again. I've missed the fellowship although have had to much pride until now to go back. I guess that sums it up. I am too excited to have discovered this web-site ( I think it's a God thing) I look forward to meeting you all... Your all in my thoughts and prayers, Susan
Old 01-06-2005, 02:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

do something