New Years Resolutions

Old 12-28-2004, 02:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Years Resolutions

I got some inspiration today to really get my recovery more 'organized' for my New Years resolution. I'm just getting started again (for the third time) & AH has announced to me that he will be quitting for the New Year (for the umpteenth time)!

While deep inside I want to hang all my hopes & dreams on the fact that this will be THE time it'll click & he'll be able to be clean & sober for the rest of his life. I want to HELP him, give him books, literature, even introduce him to sites like this one for support! I don't want him to 'do it alone' because my codie self know that if he does he'll fail & if he uses me for support he won't! YEAH RIGHT!!!

Alas I must restrain & use what I have learned about what I need for MY recovery! So... to help me in MY New Years resolution, I went out today & purchased some new reading material (Chicken Soup for the Recovering Soul & Melody Beattie's Codependents guide to the Twelve Steps) & a nice moleskin journal. I'm joining Weight Watchers again to lose the weight I gained back from a weight loss last year. I'll use the journal to track my WW points & jot down inspirational messages to follow each day - many thoughts from you!

I'm also going to use my new laptop to keep a more personal journal. AH is useless when it comes to computers & I figured it would be safer than keeping one he can just pick up & read.

Do any of you have a recovery resolution for the New Year?
As always thanks for being there, when sometimes it feels as if no one else is!

Christine
Old 12-28-2004, 11:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

Heard a message on the radio today about resolutions.
Every year we make them and it seems that every year we break them.
The message was pretty much trying to say..stick with it and keep making the resolutions. Don't give up because with no goals...no gains.