Boyfriend and I broke up and so sad...

Old 12-14-2004, 06:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
al anon

Boyfriend and I broke up and so sad...

HI
I have been posting here for a few weeks now and have been struggling with what to do with my boyfriend who started AA 70 days ago and has a sponser and is doing the 90 in 90. He also started anti anxiety and anti depressant medication right before he started AA. We had been together for a year and a half and I really love him. He was never abusive or mean- just inconsiderate and selfish although not as much during the first year. He lost his job six months ago and has been seriously needy ever since. I told him two weeks ago that i needed a break from talking to him since i had been crying almost everyday for the past 3 months. I suggested a month and he said that was too long so he said two weeks. So we didn't speak or see each other that whole time and it felt like an eternity. I missed him alot. I was going to al anon and coda since he started AA so i continued to go and i was trying to focus on myself and see friends. Anyway we spoke for the first time on sunday for 10 min but had a long conversation last night. I wanted him to say that he missed me and that he wanted to work on our relationship but deep down i have know the past three months that eventually we would have to break up so that he could heal on his own and become a healthier person. He wasn't adding any value to my life but i have been having such a hard time breaking up with him. anyway last night he said that he shouldn't be in a relationship with anyone right now and that he knows that he isn't adding anything to my life. I know exactly what he is saying and I am glad that he recognizes that he doesn't want to hurt me but it just hurts so much. I am so sad. It was like i knew we should have ended things a while ago but i couldn't do it. It's not like i was arguing with him last night about it. i knew breaking up was the right thing to do but i don't know. i ju