new to dealing with acoa

Old 12-12-2004, 05:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to dealing with acoa

Hi, I am new to dealing with being a child of two parent alcoholics, one of which i got to witness die at age 14. I am 7 months into recovery from a 16 year love affair with heroin and am not sure where to start or even if this is the right time to start with dealing with the unconscious self destructive thoughts that I now realize are very linked to my childhood.

I suppose this is an introduction and though I am in therapy, I think it might be time to deal with the messy behaviors that being a coa brings with it, aside from the heroin addiction.

I have just begun to realize that a lot of my attitudes and "automatic" behaviors are probably linked to my childhood.

I feel totally outmatched sometimes. michael
Old 12-12-2004, 06:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey Michael, welcome to Sober Recovery.
I feel outmatched at times too.
And a lot of my attitudes and automatic behaviors are linked to the environment I grew up in.
Awareness is the first part of fixing what feels wrong in our lives.
Then we take action, to try and mend what we've become aware of.
It's a slow and gradual process.
Be easy with yourself.
Glad you dropped in, stick around.
Gabe
Old 12-13-2004, 05:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
JT
Supply Manager

Awareness and knowledge are both important. So is forgiveness. BUT...your sobriety comes first. The rest comes in time as you move forward in your recovery from addiction. Mine came during my recovery from codependence. My relapse could make my husband run to the bedroom. Your's could be much more serious.

Early on I realized that I was a pawn in something much bigger...the family disease...and that blew me away. Like I had never been making real choices at all...I was living a script that someone before me had started.