A Good reason and the REAL reason

Old 07-14-2021, 10:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A Good reason and the REAL reason

"A man always has two reasons for doing anything: a good reason and the real reason."
J.P. Morgan (1837-1913)

One reason I like this website, is that it causes me to journal; something I am not good at. The added benefit is you good folks, who bring your experience and perspective to my posts.
Over the past several weeks, I have been posting about a situation without giving you guys any details. In doing so, you have provided me with some good insight and new tools.

For the past 8 weeks, I have been playing the Organ in my Catholic parish. The clergy and all of the congregation have been very supportive and appreciative. Unfortunately, I seem to be the victim of sabotage by the parish music director. The music director is a very fine jazz musician. He has an entire room in his home dedicated to his guitar collection. Before this pastor arrived, we had popular music at mass, and this person played every Sunday. He has a loyal following among members of the congregation.
When the new pastor arrived, this was his first parish. He came from a Benedictine seminary that taught him Gregorian chant and great classical literature. The first thing he did was put a stop to the pop music at mass, including the use of guitars. Then the pastor delegated all the workings of the music program to the music director.

This shows good leadership by the pastor; the ability to delegate. The weakness lies in delegating to someone who seems to have a conflict of interest. The music director pays lip service to my playing and smiles a lot. If asked, he claims that he totally supports the changes in the music program.