Brother is dying of cirrhosis @ hospice house

Old 03-26-2021, 01:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Brother is dying of cirrhosis @ hospice house

Hello all!! Newbie here to SR but not a newbie to the disease of alcoholism. Both my father, my paternal grandparents and my brother have struggled with this disease.

In the early hours of the morning as I write this, my brother is dying from cirrhosis in a hospice facility. He is 44 and has a 4 year old daughter who also lost her mother to addiction two years ago.

For 34 days I have visited my brother daily at hospice, watching him deteriorate into a shell of a person. He has battled alcoholism for several years but the last two years have been marred by inpatient stays at the hospital and multiple ER visits. Always the same diagnosis - liver issues, pancreas inflammation, low potassium & magnesium and malnutrition. Stop drinking it you’re going to kill yourself the drs would say. Take this pill to help you in your sobriety (medication that makes you sick when you drink) yet he never got the prescription filled. He never wanted to stop drinking and we are now waiting on the call he’s imminent. All I have been able to do for him is be there with everyday and watch him die of this horrible disease. We tried for many years to get him to quit but as you all know, no one will stop until they are ready. He never hit rock bottom as my mother made sure he was taken care of and my niece was with her most of the time to shield her from the damage her father was doing to himself.

Alcoholism doesn’t discriminate and affects so many. Much love to you all; looking forward to finding support during these tough times.
Old 03-26-2021, 01:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm sorry for what brings you here but wanted to welcome you to SR Hawkeye2k.

D
Old 03-26-2021, 07:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl