Notices

Addiction

Old 09-26-2020, 04:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Addiction

I'm no expert. Just a guy with 31 months or so of sobriety under his belt. But it struck me recently that it's such an interesting word & concept...addiction. These aren't new thoughts really... I've had this 'sense' about some of these ideas I'm going to share for a long time...just haven't really been able to articulate it. Still probably awkward in finding the right words to express what I'm feeling about it all underneath...but it seems lately I've been able to formulate a few. Likely not original thoughts either...

In my job - going on 20+ years - I do a lot of personal development, organizational assessment, consultation on process improvement and re-structuring, etc. etc.. To even get to a place that I have the chops to do so has required me to turn my assessment to myself quite often - to dig and try to understand my motives, how my psyche works, etc.. Probably the reason that even when I was at the peak of the self-destruction in my life deep down I knew it wasn't who I really was or wanted to be.

Anywho, that's all a different subject. To keep things reasonably brief I'll just try to put two ideas out there because I think they are related - even if I don't really understand how yet.