Notices

Triggering feelings

Old 06-28-2020, 02:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Triggering feelings

Hi everyone,

It will be a long and complicated message and I want to be upfront: what I am going to describe is giving me intense cravings for alcohol, even after several years. I don't even know how many years or months, my last relapse was in 2016.

I really would like to speak with someone about my current feelings and have no idea where to go. I did psychotherapy in the past for similar, but it just ended up feeding the same pattern multiple times, the therapists engaged in it without true introspection, it never went away or really ahead. Some of you older friends may remember patterns from my posts. If so, please point them out to me and tell me how to fit/use them better.

"Current" story:
In one line of my career, I am an academic professor. I have had a student during the COVID lockdown. Not only now, but now we developed a very intense, productive, ongoing relationship of deep intellectual conversations. Computational biologist, which I also am at this point, but more advanced, more motivated, more... everything I really would want to be, but am either failing or just using it. And faking - interactions with him triggers major impostor syndrome feelings.

Plus, the unspoken interpersonal elements. I have a long history of similar - developing what feels like very intense and equal relationships with my own mentors, often ongoing for years. Had two also before the current one, with my own mentees. My former mentors never did anything abusive – maybe they didn’t have the courage or just took the easy option - using the vibe for their motivation, for years. But they always engaged and I was always the instigator. I would bet most likely they never addressed it because they didn’t want to let it go... the interactions are certainly very stimulating and rewarding, I must say addicting, in the moment.