Notices

Another start

Old 06-08-2020, 09:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another start

Hi All,

Here I am starting again. I have tried a number of times to stop drinking, but when I dip low and start struggling I drink again. I have been diagnosed with PTSD. Ex military and now a first responder. Struggling to maintain my job, and struggle with family life. The drinking definitely doesn't help, but is my go to, unfortunately. I even went to AA and didn't drink for a year and a half, but was miserable the whole time, and then broke. I find the vibe at AA isn't good for my PTSD (please don't think this is an anti AA post, just stating how it makes me feel), but cannot do this alone. Can you give me some advice on alternative approaches, ie what worked for you. If you are an alcoholic who has PTSD I would really love to hear from you. Thanks.
Old 06-08-2020, 09:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi redfalcon

I have no experience with the military or PTSD but I firmly believe that there's an answer for everyone.
You need a new go to, man - tried any other methods besides AA?

D
Old 06-08-2020, 10:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I found AA good on some days and awful on others. I don’t have military ptsd but I do think that everyone’s problems are equally big in their own way.
what gets me through is knowing that even on the bad days I am alive and well, not panicking about what I may have said or done or what damage I’m doing to my body.
if AA isn’t right for you is there any sort of ex military support available to you? If you feel that the ptsd is your trigger it sounds like that needs addressing along side as issuing alcohol as a coping mechanism.
Old 06-08-2020, 10:06 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Coffee Snob

Originally Posted by redfalcon View Post
Hi All,