Notices

35 days sober - looking for ways to keep going

Old 04-29-2020, 06:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

35 days sober - looking for ways to keep going

Hi there. This is my first time on this website. I'll do a brief introduction. I am in my mid 20's and suffer from being a perfectionist (I'm not sure that's the best thing to start out with??). After doing a little research on my own, I thought it was necessary for me to find some sort of community to connect with if I was serious about my recovery. However, I have found that difficult as I have never met anyone similar to me and my situation.

I am a grad student in an extremely competitive program. I am very hard on myself. I struggle with anxiety and depression, but do a decent job masking this from others (other than my husband). I guess you could call me one of those "high functioning addicts" although I'm not sure I identify with the label "addict." I began using alcohol consistently at age 19 or 20 and haven't really stopped (for long periods of time) until now. I initially quit 35 days ago over concerns of my health. I have a health background and am well aware of the negative side effects of alcohol, yet my anxiety pushed me to drink everyday to numb myself to health consequences, anxiety, and depression.

Each night I have abstained from alcohol, I have craved it, which is not a surprise. I remember thinking that if I could just be sober for a few weeks, it would be easy from there on out. Surprise, it's not! However, I have to continue to remind myself that in my darkest/rock-bottom times, this is always where I longed to be: sober for a few weeks.