Notices

new to all of this

Old 12-01-2004, 01:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to all of this

Hi everyone. I'm new to all this and really don't know where to begin. I've been reading and hopping around for about an hour now. I'm in an abusive relationship with a drug and alcohol abuser. I have stuck it out for 15 years now and don't think I can tolerate it any longer. He just recently broke my foot in one of his rages. I'm afraid anymore to even try talking to him about his problems. He won't leave and I can't. I just don't know what to do anymore. I'm glad to have found this site. You all seem so friendly and I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone.
Old 12-01-2004, 01:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Clipped !
I am so sorry to hear about your situation. I was married to an alcoholic husband for 20 years and, even though he wasn't violent, I know some of what you are going through.

There is something you can do. It really helps to talk to others who understand. Please post in the "Friends and Family" or "Naranon" forums. There are lots of great people there.

Please stay safe and have an escape plan just in case. You can figure this out and we're all here to help you.
Hugs - L
Old 12-01-2004, 09:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
No expectations!

Originally Posted by clippedwings
He won't leave and I can't.
WHY NOT????
Love and hugs,
Eddie
Old 12-02-2004, 02:15 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
I choose to live

Hello welcome to SR you will find a lot of suport of people who are goin' through the same as you..Especialy on the section al anon(friends and family of alcholics)or nar anon if drugs is the problem..Of course you can keep posting here(we can learn a lot of eachother)I wish you all the best (also with your foot)...Welcome!Love from Stefanie
Old 12-02-2004, 02:40 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
we're all mad here!

what worries me is the violence......... he already broke your foot. Next time what will it be?