AH and finances?

Old 12-01-2004, 10:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Ugh!

AH and finances?

Okay, I'm just going to put this out there in hopes that someone else may be able to offer me some imput. I'm very new to this whole concept of codependency but very experienced at being one! Anyway, I'm pretty sure that ignoring what is going on is part of my sickness, but in all of this ignorance, me and my AH have gotten ourselves into some real trouble financially and are in the process now of filing a bankruptcy. We still pretend as if this is not a reality, and his way of coping has obviously been to abuse his alcohol or whatever else it is he does. My way has been to avoid him and try to make plans for my future in my mind, watch LOTS of movies, mope around and be depressed, and sleep way too much. Okay at least I found this. I am finding that dealing with doing the paperwork needed is next to impossible. I get angry and frustrated in the loss of what in my mind was my life. It is embarrassing and I cannot imagine going through with this. Hiding is so much easier but I know it will not help me to get on with my life and making it into what I want it to be. Anyone out there know what this is like? I need to get real and i'm not so sure how to go about it.

Thanks!!!!!
Old 12-01-2004, 12:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Faith -
I don't know anything about filing bankruptcy but I definitely know what it's like to live with an A and pretend like everything is OK.

I just want to welcome you to SR. There are fabulous people here who can relate to what you are going through.

There is a way to get your life back - whether he quits drinking or not. Stick around and read and post. This place was a lifesaver for me.
L
Old 12-01-2004, 01:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Faith...