Notices

Day One

Old 02-08-2020, 02:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Day One

This morning when it was still dark I poured a 63 dollar bottle of crown royal canadian whisky down the toilet. I am tired of being sick and tired. I want a real life. I had 7 years of sobriety and it all went down the drain 5 years ago. I have had periods where I did not drink for months then weeks then days and it just kept getting worse and worse. Someone told me I need to work with other alcoholics to maintain recovery. I will try to do that . It is tough when the world is not the same as it was at the beginning of those 7 years. My higher power is God and I will really need him this time to keep sober and sane.
Old 02-08-2020, 02:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Coz

Welcome regnevacs!
Sounds like you are committed to giving this a good go. I'm new to recovery, but from my experience, this is a great forum to get support, download thoughts, get ideas and communicate with a great bunch of people that really understand.
Keep reading and posting how you are doing!
Old 02-08-2020, 02:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome to SR. You've shown that you can stay sober in the past, hopefully you can make it stick this time around, best of luck
Old 02-08-2020, 02:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

I'm so glad you found us, regnevacs. Welcome.
Here you'll find understanding & encouragement from those who know exactly how you feel.
I felt like you did when I came here after drinking 30 yrs. I tried every trick to moderate the amounts I drank - was desperate to not give it up. But why? I was so afraid to face life without my buffer - but it was destroying me. There was no more fun - just misery and chaos.
You sound ready - you can do it! It'll be great to be free.
Old 02-08-2020, 03:11 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family. I hope our support can help you get sober for good.
Old 02-08-2020, 03:32 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Support to you, reg.