Notices

Trying to quit

Old 01-05-2020, 01:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to quit

I am new to this site & would like to say I am not quite 1 day sober yet. I have been drinking for 4 years. I am 24yrs old. I never had issues stopping before. When I got pregnant with my daughter in 2017 I quit the entire pregnancy no problem. Occasionally after that toll present time I have taken time away from drinking but in November 2019 I lost my mom. It affected me more than I thought it would being she was never involved in my life. (she struggled with drug addiction bad, which ultimately took her life) My mind is completely set on quitting. I don't have cravings per se but I do enjoy getting a good buzz or flat out drunk, sometimes for the fun of it. But I am a stress drinker & that's my downfall because I tend to not control how much I'm drinking. I went from maybe a pint 4-5 days a week to recently I was drinking 12-15 miniatures a day. Started in the morning wouldnt stop till bedtime. I have been experiencing some withdrawal symptoms (shaking, nausea, shortness of breath, dizziness) but I am completely determined to quit. I wanted to just cut cold turkey but am afraid that may be dangerous. Any advice on how to quit or your experiences would be much appreciated Thanks
Old 01-05-2020, 02:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Chelley! Do not try and detox by yourself. It’s extremely dangerous. Talk to your doctor and share all your details. He/she will likely put you on a benzo to calm the withdrawal symptoms and ease your body into normalcy.

If the withdrawal symptoms are really bad (this was my case), check into an ER. Just my advice as I could not physically stop until doctors got involved.

Good for you learning you have a problem at such a young age. You will not regret getting sober. Looking forward to hearing any updates!
Old 01-05-2020, 02:06 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I agree with Vinny. Go see a doctor.
Old 01-05-2020, 02:07 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter