Notices

Needing help

Old 12-24-2019, 06:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Needing help

I have been drinking every day for 18 years and am now up to 2 bottles of red wine, 20 units, I start drinking in the morning when I have the house to myself and drink about 14 units 4pm. Stop until hubby crashes on the sofa around 7.30 then drink the other 6 units. I so desperately want a realistic taper plan and encouragement please.
Old 12-24-2019, 06:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family Katy! You'll get lots of encouragement here, but we can't give you a tapering schedule, as that would amount to medical advice, and we can't give that.

Here in the US doctors often prescribe a few days of a benzo to get you thru the acute withdrawal phase lasting 3 to 5 days, usually. I hope you can get the support you need to get sober for good, both here and in real life.
Old 12-24-2019, 06:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Hi Katy!

Welcome to SoberRecovery! I hope this is the beginning of a permanent sobriety! Tapering instructions are a sensitive topic here. For one thing, we can't give medical advice--what is safe for one person may be dangerous for another. Also, as an alcoholic, tapering was not possible for me due to my lack of self control when it comes to alcohol.

The best advice we can give is to see a doctor. For me, this meant a trip to the ER followed by an in-patient detox program.

Keep reading and posting here. We support you!
Old 12-24-2019, 06:21 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome Katy! I just joined a week ago and haven’t had a drink since. And believe me, I was drinking waaaaaay more than you. I ended up going to the ER to deal with the withdrawals. They send me home with a benzo (Librium). I have not even sniffed a craving for booze and am now down to only one pill a day and am on track to be completely off of them next week. That process worked wonders for me. Might be something to think about for yourself.