Notices

Just Beginning

Old 12-01-2019, 07:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just Beginning

Hi. I am One Week into my journey. I had my last evening of alcohol One Week ago today.

I've been abusing alcohol for about 8 years. I started using it as a crutch after a rough divorce to ease the anxiety and grief. The last two years I've escalated pretty badly. I'm surprised my liver is still working. I'd say I was going through a 60 ounce of vodka every 3 days. I'd start after work and go until I blacked out every single night. I am definitely a functioning alcoholic - which is why I think I made excuses not to stop.

It's always been my dirty little secret. My friends and family have little clue about my problem.

The catalyst for me was burning a bridge with a new guy I met a few months ago. I decided to put the bottle down because in a black out drunken state I engaged in a text conversation with him that ended in me diving off a cliff with outrageous comments. I woke up the next morning filled with shame upon reading what I'd said. He'd already given me a chance prior- and I went and sabotaged what could have been a good thing.

It made me realize, in order to have a healthy relationship, I need to get healthy myself. I'm not doing this for anyone but myself. I just don't like who I see in the mirror when I wake up every morning.

I quit cold turkey, which hasn't been easy. I also successfully quit cigarettes 2 months ago cold turkey- which gives me hope I can do this as well. It hasn't been an easy week. The first few days were surprisingly easy. I guess my resolve is wearing off because I'm not feeling as confident as I did a few days ago. That's why I looked to a forum for help. I've been fidgety after work and my days off trying to find replacement activities to avoid the triggers.

Thanks for listening. It helps just to write things down.
Old 12-01-2019, 07:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to SR MissStranger