Notices

Fragile

Old 11-15-2019, 08:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fragile

AV in high gear. Romanticizing a drink. Just had a phone call with
a recruiter for a full time position in my field. I have lots of experience. I feel like I suck on phone interviews. I am so fragile/insecure/ it is very difficult for me to sell myself. My resume is outdated since I lost the last few jobs. I feel damaged
I will not add them on to my resume.
anyhow I am going to my meeting at 1pm I hope to feel better.
sorry I am all over the place.
Old 11-15-2019, 09:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Nothing good will come out of drinking. This is just one of many opportunities that are knocking right now because you are sober- look at it as a learning experience and use this time to get organized- it doesn’t have to be perfect, and if the interview sucks, so be it- the next one is right around the corner, but if you drink now you risk losing 20+ days and you will have to start over and may not be in a good place to interview, period. On a positive note, believe in yourself- I learned a trick a while back that I use and teach my mentees- right before the interview, go into bathroom put your hands on your hips and deep breathe in/out in controlled breaths for 60seconds saying, I am a leader, I can do this, I have the power to succeed. Then come out and nail the interview, presentation, etc. You’re interviewing for whether it’s a fit for you, just as much as whether they think you are fit for them.

Believe in yourself, and who knows, it may go perfectly well and you’ll be posting about your new job soon- good luck!!
Old 11-15-2019, 09:40 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I agree that positive affirmations help a lot. You can google Louise Hay for some awesome affirmations.
Old 11-15-2019, 03:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hope you're feeling a little better Faith.
Drinking again would only make you feel worse.

Best wishes with the job - fingers crossed

D
Old 11-16-2019, 07:21 AM