Notices

13 days in. Still no energy?!?! Lots of anxiety

Old 10-02-2019, 08:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

13 days in. Still no energy?!?! Lots of anxiety

I cold turkeyed off about a gram of heroin per day which I’d been taking for about 5 months. Opiate pills for a few months before that. I’m still ALWAYS tired. ALWAYS anxious. It’s been nearly 2 weeks and I’m still just barely getting by. Barely sleeping, etc.

any advice or support would be greatly appreciated!! I just want to feel normal again!!! Will it ever happen?
Old 10-02-2019, 09:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

gpat, I have no experience with heroine. Only alcohol and cigarettes.

I know I was really frustrated after quitting alcohol because I was not feeling any better (or at least not as good as I expected) for over 2 weeks. I am sure that, if you are able to analyse the past 13 days, you are probably better today than 1 week ago. I understand that the craving for heroin is really difficult to fight and you have gone through the worst. Don't let the long-term goals defeat your most important aim: not using now.

You will get better. Every day you are getting better as long as you don't use. It may take a bit longer to feel it than we expect. Best of luck
Old 10-02-2019, 09:27 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you!! I’m just wondering if I’ll ever be myself again? I used to laugh at work and have energy to complete my assignments. Now I can barely make it through the day. Yet still can’t sleep.
Old 10-02-2019, 09:38 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

You will be yourself again. 13 days is terrific, amazing and fab but it is still very early days.

I am an ex-heroin user (24 years) and it took me around 9 months to start feeling relaxed again and to properly find my laughter. I was very tired and anxious in the early days. I would shake and stammer if anyone tried to talk to me.