Notices

Procrastinating on my Steps

Old 09-30-2019, 11:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Procrastinating on my Steps

I have been "all in" for my recover; attending meetings, working with sponsor, fellowship, etc.

I am also not someone who likes to put things off. But I have been TERRIFIED to do the Steps.

I just finished step three in AA and have work to do in Four. I cannot bring myself to start, and it is causing me anxiety.

Just wanted to vent, if anyone would like to share their experiences with step work, I would love to hear it.

Thanks and goodnight

Nic
Old 10-01-2019, 01:37 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm not in AA so I have no experience to share but personally I think most of us could benefit from a "searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves"

what have you got to lose really NicLin?

Go for it

D
Old 10-01-2019, 03:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Going to Step Study meetings help when we
read thru them and discuss them together in
a group. Id go, read and listen to those who
have already work thru the steps and now live
them in their everyday life.

Learn how to clean the clutter in our lives
that we accumulated thru out the yrs before,
during and after addiction, then, thru the
steps, we use them as a guideline to avoid
repeating old behaviors.

I learned a lot from just sitting, listening intentively
in all my meeting to the "old-timers" or experienced
folks that have been there done that already.

They paved the way to help me learn how to live
a healthy, happier, honesty sober life for yrs to come.

Priceless.....
Old 10-01-2019, 07:29 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I don't think the steps are anything to strike fear into our hearts, and I think Dee is right with "personally I think most of us could benefit from a "searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves."