Notices

New here and struggling with ABF

Old 08-11-2019, 06:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here and struggling with ABF

This is my first time posting here, and I have to say this forum has been such a savior in this incredibly difficult time knowing there are others out there going through the same thing. I met my ABF 5 months ago and our connection was so deep, soul level and we felt like we were completely meant for each other. I saw the drinking early on and he shared about it, but always says it's under control bc he drinks a lot less than he used to. I am heart broken because there have been repeated episodes of him getting triggered by the littlest, benign things I say or do which results in him getting irate and yelling at me (projecting) and telling me how I am this or that... and that everything is my fault. I know this isn't true, but it still stings so much. Another episode happened yesterday just 2 days after he came over and deeply apologized, in tears and acknowledged that it is all he who is the problem and not me. I mailed him a letter in the mail a few days be fore that saying I love him deeply but I cannot be on the receiving end of his anger and aggression anymore. If he chooses to get help, I will be by his side. I think the letter helped him reflect and he said he didn't want to loose me. I know my staying in this relationship is not healthy for me or even him and that my going back to it shows I myself am in a bit of a co-dependent pattern/ in denial. But I love him so deeply and my heart is so broken that the man I love yells at me and emotionally abuses me. The last episode I think has resulted in us breaking up. I feel like I do not have the strength to stand by my words of I can't be with a drinker. I always seem to crack and want to go back into his arms. I am really struggling.
Old 08-11-2019, 06:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)