Notices

I Just Quit Drinking Again

Old 07-27-2019, 08:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I Just Quit Drinking Again

I joined SR in September of 2011. I had been drinking for about 15 months at the time and decided that I needed some support to go back to my normal, non-drinking life. I had started drinking again after over 30 years as a teetotaler; my excuse at the time was my wife’s illness. My wife had developed Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis, a progressive and ultimately fatal lung disease. She had never smoked.

The only hope for her to live more than another year was a lung transplant. We went through preliminary testing at the cardiopulmonary transplant center at the University of Arizona and she secured a position on the waiting list for donor lungs. Being on a transplant list is living on a short leash. You have to be within an hour or so of the hospital so if you are called you can get there quickly. Lung transplant surgery needs to be done quickly or the transplant can fail. So one spends a lot of time just hanging around.

We got in the habit of spending our afternoons while waiting, talking and sipping wine. It was something we could do together. I got back in the habit of drinking.

I continued to drink for a while after her successful surgery and then decided that my health would be better if I were to quit again. At the time I was drinking between a half and a full bottle of wine per day. So, I joined this forum and, with your help, was able to quit drinking again. That quitting lasted around seven years, until about this time last year.