Notices

One week sober

Old 06-10-2019, 12:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

One week sober

Hi all,
I’m currently new to this - one week sober after years of abusing alcohol. I feel surprising ok at the moment just ridiculously tired but I’m sure there will be some bumps in the road at some point - I was hoping you guys could give me some words of wisdom on what to expect in the coming weeks

Thank you 😀
Old 06-10-2019, 01:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Well done on 1 week sober Katt, that’s a huge achievement

Try to set little goals for yourself, a daily goal or even hourly to help keep you focussed on anything but alcohol. I have replaced the empty evenings where’d I’d usually be drinking with a glass of water and a book/film/podcast, anything to keep the mind busy. I never used to enjoy those things as I would not even be paying attention while drunk. Its amazing what you enjoy more while sober.
For me after 2 weeks It already feels much better waking up with no hangover and awful feelings of regret. You will have some rocky moments and self doubt but keep reading on here if you can, i have found getting back on here a big inspiration. I can see people talking about their experiences who are now sober for many years and i cling on to that as something to aim for.
Above all dont be alone and share any of your daily thoughts and challenges with people here. Maybe join the daily 24 hour thread, you will feel some accomplishment every day which helps.
You can do this
Old 06-10-2019, 01:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome aboard Katt - great to have you join us

I think most people lack energy for a while - but it comes back. Hope yours does soon

D
Old 06-10-2019, 01:48 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

welcome

Lots of good info.

A GP checkup and lots of meetings, as well as SR helped me greatly in the early days of my recovery.
Old 06-10-2019, 01:56 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Katt121 View Post
Hi all,