Notices

Breaking out of denial...first post.

Old 05-29-2019, 08:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Breaking out of denial...first post.

I've been a heavy drinker for the last 25 years or so. I'm a professional imbiber. None of my family suspected anything. I would never let people know I was hungover. I'd sneak extra shots from my stash in the garage to avoid suspicion as to the quantity I would consume. I'd switch out liquor stores each time so that if I even entered with someone I knew, I wouldn't be a "regular." I'd pre-drink before any social event. I could sneak a flask in anywhere. I'd get cash-back from the register at Wal-Mart so that I could pay cash at the liquor store and my ex-wife would not see my debit card in use at the liquor store. I'd keep vodka in my glovebox so I could have a few swigs before I got home. Surely a handle or two of liquor isn't THAT bad in a week if you spread it out, right? What total stupidity.

Now fast forward 20 years...I've been divorced for a few years from my first wife, and my recent fiance also left me. Not for drinking per se in their eyes, but because I become an ******* and say mean things and/or end up threatening them when I'm drinking. They would both say that I drink too much, but I don't think that they see how the two are so strongly related because of how well I hid how MUCH and how often I drank. I've lost the two loves in my life, and my divorce caused me to not have custody of my three kids. I wish I could start over. I've got a fatty liver, my weight is up, and I've failed as a husband and father. This is it, this is my final shot. My kids are still young so I've got to never drink again, and fight to be the best dad to them I can be. I guess I can be thankful that I don't have a physical addiction yet, just a mental compulsion that I have to fight. Anyway, thanks for reading. Just wanted to get some of this off my chest to people who understand.