Notices

Admitting there’s a problem

Old 04-06-2019, 05:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Admitting there’s a problem

Hello all,

Today is the day I decided to finally say I have a problem and I don’t want to drink anymore.

Ive kept it a secret, but I have been drinking 5 nights a week for 5 months. It didn’t seem that long to me, but I noticed my one glass of wine turned to three a night. And I knew i would drink more if I didn’t have my two young kids at home. I also knew it was a problem because when I did get to go out without the kids, I would drink myself stupid (embarrassing) and not stop I never did know when I’ve “had enough” ever since I started at 14. I can’t turn down alcohol - if it’s there I will drink it.

I opened up and told my mom and husband today about how I’ve been feeling like a problem. They both think I’m just bored after the kids go To bed but I do not. They are supportive either way.

I’m hoping I’m able to get through this. I haven’t gone more than a night without a drink in a long time. Thanks for reading
Old 04-06-2019, 05:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome, Lilyflower - I'm so glad you found us. You're in good company - we all understand.

That was the hard part for me - the admission. I drank many years & always thought I would one day be able to control it with willpower. I failed to realize that once that first drink is in our system, anything can happen. The only way to get free is to stop all together. You can do it!
Old 04-06-2019, 06:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome Lilyflower - you've found a great place for support

D
Old 04-06-2019, 06:23 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome. You've found a great place for support.
I started drinking at fourteen, too. And I would drink alcoholicly for the next thirty years.
Good for you for realizing you may have a problem and coming clean with it.
That's very brave of you.