Notices

Alcohol and hair loss/greying

Old 03-13-2019, 03:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol and hair loss/greying

Hello everyone,

I'm a long time lurker of these forums and infrequent poster, but I'd like to hear your thoughts on this issue please.

I've been abusing alcohol for a long time (15 years) and in recent years my hair has gone almost completely grey/white and has started falling out to what I think is a noticeable degree. I'm female, 39 years old and this greying/hair loss pattern doesn't run in my family at all.

I spoke to my Dr about this and asked could this be due to alcohol; she said yes but in my arrogance (and desire to keep drinking) I'm thinking 'Sure what does she know?!' so I was wondering if anyone here has any experience of this happening. I suppose I'm kind of hoping that people will tell me that YES, this is because of drinking, and also hoping that I can hear that if I stop drinking I can stop this loss.

It sounds very vain but I'm hoping that maybe vanity can give me cause to stop drinking because nothing else has.

Thanks for any input.
Anna
Old 03-13-2019, 03:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I can't relate to the hair loss but I'm 28 years old and I have so many grey hairs! My hair is naturally dark brown so I've had to lighten it to try and blend them but I am very grey for my age. I do think a little bit of it is genetic but most of it I think has been accelerated by alcohol use. Someone I went to school with had a mini meltdown on Facebook recently about finding her first grey hair and here I am with a million! It's depressing.

A friend of mine went through a spell where her hair was thinning massively and started using a special conditioner which helped. Our hair is so closely linked with our diet though so eating a balanced diet/supplementing for any nutritional deficiencies will work wonders
Old 03-13-2019, 03:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ocean Lover!