Notices

Newbie to the Sight Seeking Advice!

Old 03-08-2019, 12:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie to the Sight Seeking Advice!

Hi everyone!

I'm a newcomer (12 days sober after many 2 weeks stints and pretty stupid relapses) and brand new to this forum. I'm still in that 'pink cloud' of optimism and inner peace, though it's my first time in that cloud so this recovery feels profoundly different than previous attempts.

I'm wary of backsliding, and keep worrying about the inevitable fear, anxiety, depression and difficult conversations that await me. But I'm trying to stay positive. Any tips to staying positive at this delicate stage? Especially to keep me from being too hard on myself for all my past errs, which would only trigger that spiral of pain and shame all over again. Any advice would be much appreciated!

On a separate (and lighter) note, does anyone have suggestions for mindless activities to do during meetings to keep my hands busy? I see some people knitting or crocheting, but I don't do either. I'd like to have something like that to keep my hands occupied so I stay more focused and present on the conversation. Counterintuitive, I know, but I'm a hopeless multitasker.

Thank you and have a lovely day!
Old 03-08-2019, 12:14 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the forum. Try coloring at meetings. It helps me out a lot.
Old 03-08-2019, 12:27 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ocean Lover!

Agree with Robert! Look for Mindfulness Colouring Books in Amazon and there are loads of really good ones! x
Old 03-08-2019, 01:33 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you both!

I love those coloring books and even have one at home. I don't mean to be rude by finding such distractions, but it slows my crazy mind down enough to listen.
Old 03-08-2019, 03:08 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome samus

what really helped me stay sober was getting involved in this community, daily - not only asking for support myself but giving it to others too.