Notices

I'm new here

Old 03-06-2019, 08:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new here

Hi all, I hope you're having a good evening, or day, depending on where you live.
I'm new to sobriety, and I've been trying to focus more on the quality of my days rather than the quantity of them. I will say though that I'm going on two weeks pretty soon, and I'm feeling all sorts of ways. Detoxing from alcohol has probably ended, but the cravings still pop up. I've noticed that some days I can go without finding myself in a case of the "f***-its," as I've heard them be called. I'm wondering what you suggest for when you find yourself in those times.
There are a lot of sayings that I repeat over and over in my head when I get in that frame of mind. "Play the tape through," "bring the body, the mind will follow" (like tonight, I was craving pretty bad and tremendously stressed out, but I went to the movies and ate popcorn and had soda... the urge to drink was pretty nil when I left the theatre. There was an article that I read the other day that was explaining how well thinking where you want to be works. I've been trying that as well.

Anyhow, thanks all for being here. Knowing that others have done this too, and that I don't have to "white knuckle" it forever helps.
Thanks for any of your input.
Old 03-06-2019, 08:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, and congrats on your sober time!
Old 03-06-2019, 11:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, WindPines! It's good to have you with us.
Old 03-06-2019, 11:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome. I finally obtained lasting sobriety when finally deciding that I just can't drink anymore. I decided deep down in the deepest part of who I am that drinking is no longer an option no matter what what is going on in my life. That decision makes the choice easy now because I can't even choose drinking. If ya get what I mean.
Old 03-06-2019, 11:52 PM
  # 5 (permalink)