Notices

Finally Got it...

Old 12-09-2018, 04:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally Got it...

My name is Jon and this is sort of a stream of consciousness about my experiences with alcohol. I'm compelled to post here for several reasons, one of which I altruistically hope what I write might help someone in some small ways. In July of this year, I was pulled over for weaving in the afternoon after an intense therapy session trying to deal with some issues surrounding my ex wife and our daughter. This is much too long a story for this post; suffice it to say there is quite a history of emotional abuse from my ex directed toward both my daughter and myself, which has been ongoing for the better part of 20 years. The point here is that in this particular afternoon I did what I had been doing for about the last 8 years and I stopped off at the liquor store and proceeded to use alcohol to make the pain of the past go away. On the way home I was followed by the local police and was pulled over for weaving and was arrested on suspicion of DUI. I spent the night in jail and was bonded out in the morning and was put on pre-trial personal recognizance. It was an experience I both never thought I would endure, and certainly don't recommend. It was quite a wake up call for me. I spent the next two weeks trying to wrap my mind around all the consequences of what I had done, and what the future would hold for me now and how it was going to be in a lot of way quite different from what I had assumed.