Notices

Third time's the charm?

Old 11-29-2018, 04:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Third time's the charm?

Hello all,

I come to you all because I feel that any extra support I can get from understanding folks can help my recovery. I am 24 years old, but I have been struggling with addiction for nearly a decade. While I have been to treatment three times in my life (twice as a minor, once as an adult), this is my third legitimate attempt at sobriety. Last year I finished a 28 day stint at rehab, funded really just because at the time I was an active duty soldier in the Army. I was in for five years and while my career was almost ended due to my drinking on more than one occasion, but I still managed to get an honorable discharge

Recently, I got a DUI and was arrested for the first time in my (adult) life. While typically this is a rock bottom, I honestly don't know if this is the lowest I have been. Every opportunity, relationship, and potential positive experiences in my life has been squandered due to either my drinking or drug use.

This is my third serious attempt at a better life, and while I'm motivated to do better I just don't feel as positive as I did the other two times before. I just can't pick myself up, no matter how many times I get burnt I find myself constantly reaching for the fire.
Old 11-29-2018, 04:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
No Dogma Please

What did you do to get and remain sober the last two times?

What are you going to do differently?

There are all kinds of methods. The correct one is that which gets you sober, and different approaches work at different times in sobriety....at least that was my experience.

I used:

Medical Detox
Psychiatrist and medication (underlying bipolar disorder)
Inpatient rehab (mostly 12 step based)
Started smoking again
12 Step
AVRT
Outpatient rehab (cognitive group based)
Quit smoking again
Complete body remake, diet and exercise, lost 55 pounds and gained muscle
Psychotherapy