Notices

Another post about Day 1....

Old 11-21-2018, 10:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another post about Day 1....

So last night I drank, 4 glasses of my favorite red wine. I didn't sleep good and I woke thirsty and with a bad headache. I feel miserable, both physically and mentally.

I have my annual Dr appt today. I was going to call in sick and push it out 2-3 weeks, that way I could be sober 2-3 weeks when I saw my Dr.

Well, guess what, I realized that's just not going to work for me....I'm just going to relapse again and restart on day 1 again....like I have for so many years.

So what's it going to take for me to make this my last day 1? I don't know, but it needs to be something different that I have never tried before. So I am going to my Dr appt and I'm going to tell him I still have a drinking problem and although I've been aware of and admitting my problem for about 8 years, I likely drank too much for as many as 14 years.

I feel foolish wanting to ask "so Doc, what's the damage, how bad off am I?" when I did this to myself and I let my self get to this place. But honestly that's what I want to know, in addition to what the hell do I do to quit this ugly cycle.

I did AA on and off for 7 years (one time I had 11 months in a row sober, going twice a week to AA and holding pretty steady to not drinking) and always feel worse leaving a meeting than I do arriving. So I stopped. And I started drinking. Haven't been to AA in over a year now.

Have at it, I'd love your comments, suggestions, jokes, serious statement and love....all right here and now cause I need it. I really, really need it.

Thanks.
Old 11-21-2018, 10:43 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Otter. Welcome.
Old 11-21-2018, 10:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome back Otter. I think that coming clean with your doc today sound like a great idea, and it's definitely something different if you've never done it before.